Aging Gracefully – You’re never too old…

Standard

 A writer colleague recently asked me what my take was on aging gracefully and this is what I came up with.

    Aging gracefully is to accept the fact that your fifty year old body no longer matches the thirty-five year old that lives inside of you, while you still retain a sense of excitement about life. 

    The women who have difficulty with that concept react in one of two ways: give up or fight. When the physical changes start to occur-and they will – everyone experiences a bit of panic but individuals deal with that process differently. Some adopt a defeatist attitude and let themselves go.  They no longer care about their appearance and call themselves “old”.  Others fight aging by sculpturing, pinning and tucking their faces and bodies in a desperate attempt to retain the appearance of their youth.  Most often they end up looking unreal (Cat Woman for example). 

    A woman who ages gracefully on the other hand understands that aging is a natural part of life. She pays attention to what’s going on with her physically and emotionally and makes adjustment to smooth the transition. She eases into her new skin and retains her balance.

    I am now in my mid fifties, but with a healthy lifestyle of eating well and exercising I am  about the same size I was in my thirties.  Careful attention to my hairstyle and wardrobe help me appear a decade younger.  I’ve also accepted that some of the dreams of my youth may never materialize and I let go of the frustration. But most importantly I allow my inner thirty-five year old to retain her sense of wonder at the newness of life by exploring, learning and doing new things whenever possible.

About three years ago I switched careers after a downsizing. I went from a compliance manager in the corporate world to the education field as a school teacher. A side of me bemoaned the business of starting over at “my age” while the other was excited about learning and doing something new. That is the side I chose to embrace. Things change;  who knows what’s next. It’s all part of the big adventure called life.

    The motto “You’re never too old to…” is the formula for aging gracefully. Life is full of possibilities, so even with grey hair and a few wrinkles you can still make life interesting and do it with grace and class. 

Danielle Coulanges

Author of

“Cads, Princes & Best Friends, A Tale of Lust, Love & Redemption”
Visit my website at: www.butterflypublication.com

3 thoughts on “Aging Gracefully – You’re never too old…

  1. Karen

    As a 40+ woman with lots of grey hair and very few wrinkles, I look and feel younger by always smiling and laughing out loud whenever possible.
    Aging gracefully is an art and too many women fall prey to the youth oriented culture out there. By dressing “young” which is almost always 9 times out of 10 inappropriate, these women look like they’re holding on to their youth for dear life.

    I’m enjoying my 40’s so far and honestly looking forward to the years to come.

  2. Tesslyn Mustain

    Aging is an art I have yet to master. No way am I 48! I still feel 35 inside. Seems time moves much faster with the passing of years. But denial only gets me so far; the mirror tells a painful truth.

  3. marcia

    Danielle, life is about transition and moving with the times. Attitude is everything! I am young at heart, feel great at size 8;the same size since my 20’s. Not bragging, but to say attributed to lifesyle, nutrition, exercise, proper skincare, and sleep.

Leave a comment